Custom Skinned MySpace and YouTube Tutorial.

Custom Skinned MySpace and YouTube Tutorial.

A. YOUTUBE CUSTOM SKIN TUTORIAL

Here is how I did it:

This guy has a great walk through for the YouTube part of it with a back ground template link as well, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b5MqSqy16ys .

1. You got to make or upload the image you want to use.

2. In the video channel design tab, simply add the link (URL) to your art work to the background field and hit update. (it’s all in the above video)

3. I un clicked tile option, as it wasn’t the look I was after, try some things and test them out.

I just used a plain graphic background I created which suited to overall look.

I custom skinned the lot ( YouTube + MySpace) with the same graphic feel, color palette, video and photos are all in line.

B. MYSPACE CUSTOM SKIN TUTORIAL

For the custom MySpace skin, I found a music template that I kinda liked.

You can use any, go to a free MySpace skin generator and grab your code.

I tried to find the least trashie, busy layout out I could which would most suit the look.

1. There are some cool ones here http://www.freecodesource.com/myspace-layouts/cat.php?id=8 .

2. Once I got the code, I went through it to find the links to the graphics.

3. I then download the graphics from their embedded URL.

4. I then used them as a template in a graphic editing package for sizes to create my own look in line with my video clips and photo shoot. UPDATE: you can also use .SWFs or .GIFs to replace the graphic place holder of your chosen skin, just make them the same size for optimization.

<<CLICK BELOW PIC FOR GIF AN EXAMPLE>>

5. All I did then was host/upload them somewhere and replaced the graphic links in the code with my new graphics links.

6. I also cleaned the code a little to get rid of the embedded links and adverts etc, just trial and error as I deleted stuff.

NB: It was a little fidgety, but I made sure I backed up the original code as I tweaked and tested the new clean skin, which I also back up, just in case.

A bit of tweaking in the MySpace profile editor was all their was really.

C. COMPLETED EXAMPLES OF THE ABOVE.

Good luck, example links to my results are below.

Still some tweaking but not a bad effort over 5 Chappelle episodes.

Drop me a line if you need hand with your profile and web integration.

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBYHp76rPdE

YouTube skin: http://www.youtube.com/user/scootaboiROX

MySpace skin: http://www.myspace.com/scootaboi

JA

~ by jamie andrei on May 26, 2008.

2 Responses to “Custom Skinned MySpace and YouTube Tutorial.”

  1. […] you want to know how I did it <<CLICK HERE>> (it is a later post covering MySpace skinning as […]

  2. I have to show thanks to this writer just for rescuing me from such a difficulty. After surfing throughout the search engines and consequently obtaining strategies which were not considered beneficial, I believed my entire life ended up gone. Living without the approaches to the problems you’ve solved by way of the report genuinely critical example, and the kind that would get in a wrong way damaged items career in case i had not come across your blog post. Your own personal natural talent with kindness found in dealing with all the details was indeed very useful. I am not sure individual would’ve finished easily had not encountered that of a stuff along these lines. I can at this moment look ahead to that incoming. Thanks for your time very much for your high quality as well results-oriented help. I will not be reluctant directly to recommend your web page – any person whom should get counselling on this matter.

Leave a Reply

 
